LoVe your MaNe

Hairequest: Fatima

We had the opportunity to speak to the Zambian beauty Fatima recently. Not only does Fatima have gorgeous relaxed hair  she also has a blog and has a hair store in Zambia. We wanted to find out more about this inspiring your lady so we sat down with her and this is what we found out 🙂

Fatima Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your hair.

My name is Fatima. I am a student and hair blogger. I have been on a hair journey since 2012. I have relaxed hair, roughly bra strap length

How long have you been on your healthy hair journey?

I have been on my hair journey for 3 years now. Started at neck length

11421669_969525816425434_569361291_n2012(start of hair journey)

What made you start a healthy hair journey

A setback after bad dye jobs back to back is what made me realise how bad I had damaged my hair. Within a short space of time it had become very short and I realised I had to find a quick fix. In searching for that I learnt that one actually has to be patient and there’s no quick fix. I gave it a shot and here I am.

What are some of the setbacks you have faced during your journey?

My worst setback happened about 9 months into my hair journey. I did not detangle well and my hair matted so bad. Unfortunately many of the knots were close to the roots. There was no way out. Had to cut them leaving me with extremely uneven hair.

With so many people going natural what has motivated you to maintain your hair relaxed?

With so many people going natural I do feel the pressure to turn as well but at the end of the day its best to do what works for you. My hair isnt where id want it to be yet but its close and Im content. I love its texture and body. Im 100% sure its getting better. Its not about being natural or relaxed. Its just about being me and I’m loving it!

What advice would you give someone starting their healthy hair journey?

Results don’t come overnight. One has to stay consistent.There is no magical product that will give insane growth in no time. The one thing that has worked for me is just pampering my hair with good treatment, being gentle and protective styling. Focus on getting it into a healthy state. Length will fall into place

What are your go to favourite products?

I love me some Sheamoisture Coconut and Hibiscus shampoo. Its so gentle. My favourite moisturizing conditioner is ORS Hairepair conditioner. The last thing I cant do without is Tropic Isle JBCO

What is your hair regimen simplified?

I pre poo using a non specific conditioner before any wash. Can be protein or moisture based •shampoo 1x a week with a sulfate free shampoo •conditioning treatment which could be protein or moisture based depending on what my hair needs at that time •I use a leave in after rinsing out the conditioning treatment. •moisturize and seal every day or 2 •clarify 1x a month •texlax every 10 to 12 weeks • buns and ponytails are my go to style. I’m in protective styles 90% of the time.

Lastly, what is your hair goal?

My goal is simply to have thick, even and healthy hair. Id be grateful for mid back length but its not something I’m pushing for as such. A healthy head of hair is my ultimate goal.

11355627_969526109758738_1464222722_n   2013  11418220_969526513092031_1618776623_n            2014

11543023_969526659758683_1477256248_o current length

visit Fatima’s blog

http://hairequest.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

